Skip to main content

Members and Observers

IPBES was established in 2012 by more than 100 governments, and its membership has continued to grow as IPBES' impact has increased.


Who can become a member?
All States Members of the United Nations are eligible for IPBES membership.

Why become a member?
To strengthen knowledge foundations for better policy through science, for the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity, long-term human well-being and sustainable development.

How to become a member?
Should your Government wish to join IPBES, all that is required is for this intention to be officially communicated to the IPBES secretariat, by way of a formal letter, issued by or on behalf of the authority that would normally issue credentials for your national delegation to participate in a session of the IPBES Plenary, in other words by your Head of State or Government or minister for foreign affairs, consistent with your national policies and law.


All States Members of the United Nations that are not members of IPBES (listed as Observer States in the table below), conventions, multilateral organizations, United Nations bodies and specialized agencies and other organizations that have been approved as observers at the previous sessions. The list of Observer organisations is available here 

Members and observers

Country Sort descending Status Region Member since
Namibia Observer African States
Nauru Observer Asia-Pacific States
Nepal Member Asia-Pacific States
Netherlands Member Western European and other States
New Zealand Member Western European and other States
Nicaragua Member Latin American and Caribbean States
Niger Member African States
Nigeria Member African States
Niue Observer Asia-Pacific States
North Macedonia Observer Eastern European States

All parties that adopted the resolution on the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services on at the second session of the plenary meeting to determine the modalities and institutional arrangements for IPBES, held from 16 – 21 April 2012 in Panama City became members on 21 April 2012.