Within the scope outlined in the generic scoping report for the regional and subregional assessments of biodiversity and ecosystem services (decision IPBES-3/1, annex III), the African assessment will focus on thematic priorities, including the food-energy-water-livelihood nexus; land degradation, including climate-related risks such as desertification and silting; catchment to coast; biodiversity conservation and sustainable use; and invasive alien species. The assessment will also include the following cross-cutting themes to be addressed, as appropriate, as part of the thematic priorities listed above: trade agreements and foreign investment; and environmental health and zoonotic diseases.

The assessment will include countries and territories in five subregions


Countries and territories

East Africa and adjacent islands

Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mayotte,a Reunion,a Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, Uganda and United Republic of Tanzania

Southern Africa

Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe

Central Africa

Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon and Sao Tome and Principe

North Africa

Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia and Western Saharab

West Africa

Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea‑Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo

a. Overseas territory.

b. Territory under negotiation between the parties concerned, as recognized by the Security Council and the General Assembly of the United Nations in their relevant resolutions.